As a journalist with a family background steeped in religion, I have long had an interest in prayer. But my earlier personal experiences with various schools of thought surrounding the nature, purpose, and efficacy of prayer have metamorphosed into a professional interest since I decided to become a reporter.

Despite concentrating on politics throughout my career, I have written often on religion and the public sphere, a subject that nearly always touches on prayer. When I studied for my Master’s in Journalism at Columbia University’s Graduate School of Journalism, I undertook Professor Ari Goldman’s inaugural Covering the Religions of Israel class. We traveled to Israel and Jordan for our field reporting and I continued my research and reporting on ultra-orthodox Hasidic Jewish communities, already begun in Brooklyn. Prayer is at the centre of Hasidism and is indeed integrated into daily existence.

When I moved to the Philippines with my family, working as a freelance correspondent for the Australian and international press, I was fascinated by the way religion, spiritual devotions, and prayer are integrated into every facet of public and personal life. I reported on the mass prayer vigils held by members of rapidly expanding pentecostal and evangelical churches with their charismatic preachers. On the fabled “Day of the Dead” or All Souls Day (actually the “celebration” starts a few days before the official Catholic feast in early November) Filipinos gather in cemeteries to hold joyful prayer vigils-cum-macabre parties around the gravestones of their dearest late relatives. There is a mixture of traditions pre-dating the arrival of Christianity under the Spanish, including both Malayan and Chinese beliefs about spirits and ghosts, combined with Christian beliefs in the eternal soul and the disintegration of the body.